Recent Searches
Clear

Stray New Zealand: Whio

star-4.59 Reviews
|
Auckland, New Zealand
Stray New Zealand: Whio

From $1,195.68

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 7 days in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon10 days  (Approx.)
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Travel round-trip from Auckland to Wellington and discover top New Zealand attractions with ease on this 7-day North Island adventure tour. Marvel at New Zealand’s natural beauty at sites including Cathedral Cove, Hot-Water Beach and Huka Falls. Discover Maori culture and tradition among bubbling mud pools in Rotorua, and explore Hobbiton with your guide. Explore Whakahoro on horseback and take the breathtaking Tongariro Crossing through the volcanic wilderness of the Tongaririo National Park. Visit Te Papa, Wellington’s national museum, and explore the art galleries and botanical gardens.
  • Multi-Day Trip
  • Small-group tour
  • Informative, friendly and professional guide
  • Comprehensive tour by bus/coach
  • Perfect introduction for first-time visitors
Saved to wishlist!
Dinner
Breakfast
Experienced tour guide
Air-conditioned vehicle
9-Night accommodation and transfers
Maori cultural live performance including a traditional hangi meal and story telling
Goods and Services Tax included
Food and drinks, other than the meals specified under inclusions
Extra optional activities

Departure Point

225 Cnr of Darby &, Queen Street, Auckland CBD, Auckland 1010, New Zealand

Departure Time

7:20 AM

Return Details

Wellington, New Zealand
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Minimum age is 18 years
  • Tour pricing is based on quad share (except at Whakahoro which is 6 share). Twin or Single tour packages are available, however these upgrades do not apply to Hahei where accommodation is quad share.
  • Vegetarian option is available, please advise at time of booking if required
  • A moderate amount of walking is involved. Not recommended for participants with heart complaints or other serious medical conditions.
  • Travel Insurance: Not included with this tour. It is strongly recommend that passengers have their own insurance to cover against illness, injury, loss/damage to personal belongings and inability to travel on the confirmed departure date
  • Luggage is limited to one bag or suitcase per person (maximum weight of 15kgs), plus one day pack to carry onboard with your valuables. The carriage of any excess of oversized luggage is at Stray's discretion and must be approved prior to travel.
  • Itinerary Disclaimer: Itineraries are correct at the time of printing, however the operator retains the right to alter the route or itinerary if required. On occasion changes are made to improve the product or due to changes made by partners / suppliers. If a product, service or activity detailed in our itinerary is changed, a suitable alternative will be offered where possible. Components of our trip are weather dependent and the Operator cannot be held liable if some components are not available on the day of travel.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Stray Limited
You can cancel up to 7 days in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 7 full days before the experience’s start time.
  • Any changes made less than 6 full days before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • For a 50% refund, you must cancel 3–6 full days before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 2 full days before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 2 full days before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Stray New Zealand: Whio?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Stray New Zealand: Whio.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Stray New Zealand: Whio?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Stray New Zealand: Whio.

Traveler Photos

See More

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
9 Reviews
2 stars
0
1 star
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-4 of 9 reviews
star-5
Time of My Life
Bionikc
, Jul 2020
This tour was amazing. Every single day was so educational and full of activity. Plenty of rest stops along the way so you never feel cooped up. The drivers and fellow travelers were like-minded and fun. I would go again in a heartbeat.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2020
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your trip. I am so glad you had the time of your life, believe me it brings us so much joy to show you the sights of this beautiful country! We can't wait to have you back again someday - until we meet again.
star-3
Everything was great.... except some details
Illia B
, Jan 2020
Trip was great, Lego(the driver) was super nice, told huge amount of interesting funny stories about places we were passing by that made bus time not so boring. But there are always some details that can spoil all the impression and I got 3: Detail 1 - if you paid for tween room be prepared that some places don't have tween rooms at all and on check-in you'd notice that you're gonna sleep in one room with these two guys Detail 2 - In Rotorua most of the activities optional and payable, if you decide to book them via Stray a woman will wait for you near your hotel and if you try to pay by card she will take your card, call someone and literally dictate your card number, expiration date and CVV code to I don't know who (I don't know, maybe that's how New Zealand PCI compliance service looks like) and I'm still waiting for some random purchases from my card from some place on the other side of the Earth Detail 3 - if you want to visit Hobbiton you'd better book tickets in advance by yourself, even though we were told that Stray had special places bla-bla-bla for it's tourist, actually it was like this - bus took us to Hobbiton, after that driver went and bought tickets for us, we came there about 2pm and because there were a lot of people our tickets were for 6pm and we had to sit on the lawn in the middle of the nowhere for 3+ hours just waiting for our tour. Part of the group asked for refund and went away immediately but we stayed. The good part was that driver bought us sandwiches :) Except these details everything else were awesome. New Zealand is extremely beautiful, tour were very intensive but super interesting. I completely flooded my Instagram )))
star-5
7-Day North Island Tour
Venture51265603143
, Oct 2019
Oh my goodness, this trip was so fun. The tour was through Stray and my guide was Lego. Lego was an absolute blast as a guide, and the entire tour was everything I hoped it would be and more.
star-4
This tour offered a great variety of...
Marion K
, Feb 2017
This tour offered a great variety of activities and sightseeing. Despite having 2 days of rain and not being able to hike the Tongariro Crossing because of high winds and generally poor weather, our tour guide kept us busy with alternative activities. This tour was full with 24 people on board, a cross-section of ages, and everyone got on very well. This doesn't always happen.. For some of us, having 2 or 3 options of what to do on arriving in Wellington would have been preferable. We only had the choice of the WETA tour which, while interesting, was perhaps of most interest to Lord of the Rings fans. I'd like to suggest that, in addition to WETA, the Te Papa museum, a guided walk around Wellington, or hitting the waterfront with all its bars and restaurants could be other options offered. We'd also spent most of the day sitting on the bus so the chance to stretch one's legs would have been greatly welcomed. The 6 days closely matched what I expected and experienced.

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Stray New Zealand: Whio
Stray New Zealand: Whio

star-4.59

10 days

Free Cancellation

From
$1,195.68

star-519

24 days

Free Cancellation

From
$2,661.24

star-3.58

5 days

Free Cancellation

From
$1,260.68

star-521

4 days

Free Cancellation

From
$700.77

star-513

21 days

Free Cancellation

From
$2,319.62

star-51

23 days

Free Cancellation

From
$3,347.22

Explore Similar Things to Do