Recent Searches
Clear

Auckland Dolphin and Whale Watching Eco-Safari Cruise

|
Auckland, New Zealand
9

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon4 hours 30 minutes  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 7 more

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Gear/equipment sanitized between use
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
Guides required to regularly wash hands
Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
More questions?
(888) 651-9785

Overview

Cruise the waters of Hauraki Gulf Marine Park in search of whales, dolphins and penguins on a half-day tour from Auckland. You’ll board a spacious catamaran at Viaduct Harbour and hear expert guides share informative commentary about New Zealand’s natural wonders. During the whale and dolphin safari, keep an eye out for six types of whales that frequent these waters, as well as seabirds such as Australasian gannets, petrels and terns.
  • 4.5-hour whale and dolphin watching cruise, from Auckland
  • Ride aboard a custom-built luxury catamaran for a superb viewing experience
  • Keep your eyes peeled for dolphins and as many as six types of whales
  • Observe gannets that hunt by plunging into the water at speeds of up to 87 mph (140 kmh)
  • Listen to entertaining and informative commentary provided by your captain and crew
  • Departs from the Viaduct Harbour, conveniently located in downtown Auckland
Saved to wishlist!
Local guide
Every ticket purchased contributes directly to Marine Mammal Conservation
Expert commentary/Interaction with our onboard Marine Research Scientists
Food and drinks (available to purchase)
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Corner of Quay and Hobson Street, Auckland 1140, New Zealand

Departure Time

1:30 PM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
Meet the boat crew at the New Zealand Maritime Museum at Viaduct Harbour, and depart aboard a custom-built 65-foot (20-meter) catamaran, comfortably appointed so you can best view up to six types of whales as well as dolphins and other marine life.

Throughout your 4.5-hour cruise, the captain and guides entertain you with fascinating facts about the Hauraki Gulf Marine Park, home to five marine preserves and sprinkled with islands — it's considered one of the world’s most biologically diverse marine parks and home to some 23 different species.

Hear about research conducted in partnerships with local marine scientists and discover which whales the crew tracks. They’ll point out sea mammals such as frequently spotted pods of bottlenose dolphins and Bryde’s whales, native to New Zealand.

Be ready to snap photos of adorable blue penguins. Set your binoculars upon seabirds such as Australasian gannets, petrels, shearwaters and white-fronted terns soaring above or plunging into the sea.

Afterward, the boat returns to Auckland’s Viaduct Harbour, where your tour ends.

Please note: While wildlife viewings cannot be guaranteed, dolphins and whales are often swimming around these waters. In the event that you do not see any marine mammals during your trip, you can go again another day at no extra charge.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Advisable to dress in warm layers and weatherproof gear as weather can be unpredictable
  • Advisable to bring sun hat (with chin strap to secure it), sunscreen, sunglasses, camera, binoculars and flat-soled shoes
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • IMPORTANT: Check in closes 15 minutes prior to stated departure time. Those passengers who are late risk losing their allocated seats.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 99 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Auckland Whale and Dolphin Safari

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Auckland Dolphin and Whale Watching Eco-Safari Cruise?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Auckland Dolphin and Whale Watching Eco-Safari Cruise.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Auckland Dolphin and Whale Watching Eco-Safari Cruise?
A:
The policy on social distancing is:

  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Auckland Dolphin and Whale Watching Eco-Safari Cruise.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Auckland Dolphin and Whale Watching Eco-Safari Cruise?
A:
The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Auckland Dolphin and Whale Watching Eco-Safari Cruise.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Auckland Dolphin and Whale Watching Eco-Safari Cruise?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 99 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Auckland Dolphin and Whale Watching Eco-Safari Cruise.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "You need to be ready with your camera if you’re going to get those jumping out of the water and showing off their gymnastic skills." See review
  • "I don't think it was worth the cost of the tour." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
1,106 Reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 1,106 reviews
star-2
No dolphins
amandeep_k
, Apr 2021
We saw only whale . They are asking , we see there whale & dolphin . Otherwise its ok to visit , long trip
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
Nice outing
Marie_C
, Apr 2021
Firstly I was very disappointed with Viator. The price was advertised as $92 and right through the booking process it didn’t mention that it was US$! It was only after I had paid and received confirmation that it showed it was US$ and not NZ$. This was deceptive and false advertising. The trip itself was good. The staff were lovely and knowledgeable. We saw 3 orcas 10 minutes into the trip and nothing else for the rest of the 4 hrs.
HelpfulHelpful
star-2
Weather spoilt it
Norm
, Mar 2021
Great Crew, but swell to big and didn’t see anything came back to shore early, not crews fault it’s just circumstances and weather. Got voucher for standby next time we in Auckland
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Good experience
Spencer_H
, Jan 2021
Welcoming and friendly staff. Got to see a lot dolphins. Unfortunately, didn’t see any whales. Got a bit sunburned on the ears.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2021
Kia Ora, thanks for your review and pleased to hear you got to see lots of dolphins out in the Hauraki Gulf with us!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Last Day Before Heading Hime
Mary_M
, Aug 2020
We had an awesome day watching dolphins of all sizes. You need to be ready with your camera if you’re going to get those jumping out of the water and showing off their gymnastic skills. No whales due to the rough seas. It was a wonderful day anyway.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2020
Hi Mary, thank you for your review. Really great that you had a great trip out with us and got to see the dolphins putting on a show.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Got to see the dolphins!
Lena
, Mar 2020
Great tour! Got to see the dolphins and staff were very friendly and professional. Definitely would recommend it!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Had a great time
Roya
, Mar 2020
It was really nice being able to see so many dolphins so close. Also, learning about wildlife on the way. I was disappointed that we couldn't spot any whales, but there is no way to control that.
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
Amazing!
Vishwa_C
, Mar 2020
It was an amazing experience with a very friendly crew Just that it took longer to come back then the given time and almost the whole day was occupied. So plan your day according to the time they tell you on phone instead of the website
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
Lots of dolphins but not one whale
blucero
, Feb 2020
I don't think it was worth the cost of the tour. I understand that we can't always find animals out in the wild, and the dolphins were great. But it was a long trip out, and then just another long trip back, with not much information in between.
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
Great Gannets
trevsharp
, Feb 2020
Well organised but sadly no Dolphins for three hours and no sighting of Whales. Dolphins were fun but we couldn't stay long enough. Diving Gannets were amazing. We were given a free trip voucher which we will not be able to use, nice gesture but $50 refund would have been more appropriate.
HelpfulHelpful

Product code: 6608AWDS

Explore Similar Things to Do