Recent Searches
Clear

Are you interested in?

Cultural Tours
97 Tours & Activities
Lake Rotorua Tours
55 Tours & Activities
Tours, Sightseeing & Cruises
495 Tours & Activities

Learn more about our Covid-19 response.

Read More

Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland with Options - Guaranteed departure

star-4.5
|
Auckland Central, New Zealand

Learn more about our Covid-19 response.

Read More

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon13 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
Gear/equipment sanitized between use
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
More questions?
(888) 651-9785
More questions?
(888) 651-9785

Overview

This small-group day trip from Auckland features the highlights and hospitality of Rotorua. Visit the Maori Arts and Crafts Institute of Te Puia, witness the thermal activity of the Te Whakarewarewa Geothermal Valley, and tour the city with a knowledgeable guide. Opt for additional free time to explore on your own, or upgrade for a private soak at the Polynesian Spa, a visit to Wai-O-Tapu Thermal Wonderland, or a Maori concert. You have the flexibility to return to Auckland or end with drop-off in Rotorua.
  • Rotorua highlights tour with a professional guide
  • Drive past the farmlands of Waikato and tour the city
  • Watch cultural demos at the Maori Arts and Crafts Institute in Te Puia
  • Stroll past bubbling mud pools and Pohutu Geyser
  • Upgrade to add on Polynesian Spa, Wai-O-Tapu Thermal Wonderland, or Maori concert
  • Travel with a small group by air-conditioned minivan
  • Select a round-trip from Auckland or be dropped off in Rotorua
Saved to wishlist!
Cafe Lunch - (vegetarian and gluten free options available)
Live commentary on board given by experienced guide
Hotel pickup and drop-off and other meeting points by arrangement including private addresses in the central metropolitan area
Small-group tour Transport in air-conditioned minibus with luxury leather seating
Local taxes
Morning and afternoon tea available at own expense
Infant meals not included
Gratuities
Please note that because of the amount of travel time this tour is not suitable for children under 2 years as part of the group - It can be booked as a private tour - please ask TripAdvisor/Viator to contact us for the custom price

Departure Point

Traveler pickup is offered
Guaranteed departure - We do not cancel on the rare occasions we have low numbers. We will travel for one person
We pickup for free at all Central Auckland accomodation, hotels, apartments, etc. We only go to the hotels/accomodation which are booked for that day. We also offer a subsidised shuttle service for people staying out of the city centre to bring them to meet the tour coach. Please liaise with us re where you are to be picked up. It is essential you get in contact with this information as soon as possible

We use shuttles to minimise the time between pickup and tour departure - You will not be driven around for hours at the beginning or end of your tour while other people are being picked up or dropped off

Departure Time

6:30 AM
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking, unless booked within 1 day of travel. In this case confirmation will be received as soon as possible, subject to availability
  • Infant seats are required by law in NZ in private vehicles for children under 7 years - We recommend the same standard be applied for your child's safety and have them available in all vehicles for use of seat and child restraint for the day.
  • Infant meals not included
  • Please note that because of the amount of travel time this tour is not suitable for children under 2 years as part of the group - It can be booked as a private tour - please ask TripAdvisor/Viator to contact us for the custom Tour price
  • We must know where you are staying in Auckland - We do not have a standard meeting place and go only to prearranged hotels and places to meet people
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult - note must be over 2 years old to be on group vehicle
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Infant seats available
  • Hotel or Accomodation information
  • Pickup address
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travelers
  • OPERATED BY DenbarNZ Ltd ( Trading as FlexiToursNZ )

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland with Options - Guaranteed departure?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Rotorua Day Trip from Auckland with Options - Guaranteed departure.

Traveler Photos

See all 46
See all 46

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
57 Reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 57 reviews
star-5
Tip Top
Wayn_
, Mar 2020
Great day out, nice and relaxed, enough time to go at my own pace. Lunch was great. Pick up and drop off really handy.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
An excellent day
pughstephen9
, Feb 2020
I cant praise this day out enough. The pick up was well organised and on time - comfortable small bus and a very nice small group. Daryl the guide was very welcoming and friendly. He is very knowledgeable about the area and gave us a lot of background information. The thermal/cultural site at Rotorua is very well organised and interesting. Daryl provided us with a tour of the city and interesting parts of the surrounding area. This was a long day but well worth it - I am so pleased I went on the trip.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Thankyou for your great review! I’m glad you enjoyed your day with us. Our aim is to ensure you have the best day possible! Thankyou for your kind words about Darryl I will let him know. We look forward to having you travel with us again in the future. Kind regards, Serhan
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
A great day out
dreawerner
, Jan 2020
I had a brilliant day. As I was the only one on the first bus to have only booked the "basic" Auckland-Rotorua-Auckland-tour I got a "private tour" from the first stop in Hobbiton to Te Puia in Rotorua. Guide Will suggested to at least add the Maori dance performance and took care of the booking for me. As we left Hobbiton early that gave me some time to get a glimpse of the Rotorua Museum and Sulphur Point before heading for Te Puia, and I also had enough time in Te Puia for a guided tour, the dance performance, lunch and some extra spare time (in which I fortunately managed to see the geysir errupt). Afterwards Dallas picked me up and having two more hous to spare, he first took me to the Redwoods Treewalk and then to a little park with amongst others a beautiful geothermal lake (visiting that site was for free and the lake was just amazing - I wish I remembered the park's name). Then it was time to go back to Matamata to meet Kelly, who brought me (and another gentleman from the US) back to Auckland. I had assumed to fall asleep on the part of the journey after a packed day, but the three of us had such an interesting chat that the drive back just flew by. As said in the beginning I had a brilliant day - thanks again to the three guys mentioned (and also to the first driver whose name I unfortunately forgot - sorry).
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Thankyou for your great review! I’m glad you enjoyed your day with us. Our aim is to ensure you have the best day possible! Thankyou for your kind words about our drivers I will let them all know. We look forward to having you travel with us again in the future. Kind regards, Serhan
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Nice
paul0renz
, Jan 2020
Nice experience very well organized for a day tour. The best thing was the guide appassionate and professional, the worst the inesixtance of the rear bumpers of the coach.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Thankyou for your great review! I’m glad you enjoyed your day with us. Our aim is to ensure you have the best day possible! Kind regards, Serhan
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Well Paced Trip
mirelam282
, Jan 2020
If you happen to be in Auckland, a trip to Rotorua is a must! I took this tour because it was a small group tour. We were five on a spacious, comfortable minibus, The bubbling mud pools and the 30m-tall Pohutu Geyser were the best part of the trip followed by the Maori Cultural Experience. The buffet lunch at Te Puia was quite delicious. I recommend this tour.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Thankyou for your great review! I’m glad you enjoyed our Vehicle and our Rotorua tour It definitely is a spectacular experience full of excitement. Kind regards, Serhan
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Professional Staff and Exciting Attractions
Global402258
, Nov 2019
Fran and Rick really make the bus trips enjoyable with their knowledge of the areas and occasional stops to show us sights not on the itinerary. Rotorua is an exciting place, complete with geysers, great food, acid pits, mud pits, and that volcanic sulphur smell. I HIGHLY recommend adding on Wai-O-Tapu if you're going. They went above and beyond taking care of our last-minute travel accommodations and scheduled new travel arrangements for us! Excellent staff and they show how much they really care about showing the participants a great time.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Hi, Thank you for your amazing review. We take great pride in making every effort possible to make traveling in NZ with us as smooth as possible and happy to fix and adjust things last minute as we know that travel can never be perfect and we have to make things work so you are able to enjoy NZ. Hope to see you travel with us again in the future. Regards, Daniel
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
Disappointing
ashoken2018
, Oct 2019
For 2 hours sightseeing spending entire day not a good idea.Starting at 6.30am from Auckland, stopping for an hour in Habbiton, changing bus reached Rotorua around 11.30 am. We have again started from Maori village at 3pm since we will have take a new group for sightseeing. The entire day wasted with out much activity. Instead we could have taken a inter city bus to Rotorua and booked tours from Rotorua.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Hi - I am really confused as the tour you are describing does not resemble the way our tours are run and I am wondering if you travelled with FlexiToursNZ We occassionally stop at Hobbiton to change vehicles to travel on to Rotorua with a Rotorua local and specialist - but this stop is never more than 20 minutes and we always arrive in Rotorua between 10am and 10:15am If you booked no additional options - and we have a lot of choices, it is clearly stated that you will get free time and you do not mention having free time to explore in the city. We visit Te Puia which is an extensive thermal area with the Maori Arts and crafts institute and is also where we have a buffet lunch. Most people say they would love more time here - but you are saying nothing was included. Please get back to me and tell me who you are and what date you travelled, so I can investigate if you travelled with us, and if so why you went on a programme which does not sound like what I company offers. The journey on Intercity is 4 hours each way with multiple stops to drop off and pickup customers and on arrival in Rotorua you would have had to find your own way around and it definately is not a good alternative to a FlexitoursNZ tour. our drive time in each direction is two and three quarter hours
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Family visit to Rotorua
Barbara W
, Aug 2019
Absolutely worthwhile! Darryl was a terrific guide, knowledgeable, courteous and a safe driver. Wish we had more time in New Zealand.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2019
Hi, Thank you for your great review and great to hear Darryl could look after you and make sure your trip was safe and comfortable. Best Regards, Daniel
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Review
Global32813323402
, May 2019
The driver, Trevor, was excellent; very competent and knowledgeable, friendly and engaging, he made it an enjoyable day.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2019
Hi, Thank you for great review of our driver Trevor. very happy he could provide the excellent to you and made your day very enjoyable. i will be sure to pass on your very nice comments to him directly. Regards, Daniel
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
Great Guide. Optional Add On is a Must
Pelizzari2013
, Dec 2018
Great, knowledgeable guide (Fran)Definitely add the Wai o Tapu option because it’s way more impressive and interesting than the park that’s included.Had hoped to see cultural experience but this wasn’t included. However, a delicious lunch was included.Pretty expensive tour, but NZ is expensive all round.
HelpfulHelpful

Product code: 14795P3

Explore Similar Things to Do