Recent Searches

Shore Excursion: Tauranga Morning Highlights - with FREE lunch

Bay of Plenty, New Zealand

Sorry, this product is currently unavailable.

See Similar Products
Loading available options...

icon4 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English


Discover golden sand beaches, kiwi fruit orchards, historic buildings and traditional New Zealand culture on this Tauranga shore excursion including Mt. Maunganui. Travel along Pilot Bay with your guide and gaze across Tauranga Harbour to Matakana Island. Discover evidence of ancient Maori settlements near Mt. Maunganui. Soak up the sunshine at Mt. Ocean Beach, admire the affluent Marine Parade and visit a kiwi orchard. Then, head into the hills for panoramic city and harbor views.
  • Great overview and orientation of the city
  • Informative, friendly and professional guide
  • Instant Confirmation
Saved to wishlist!
Experienced and professional local driver/guide
Air-conditioned transport
Port pickup and drop-off
Bottled water
Personal expenses
4 Salisbury Avenue, Bay of Plenty 3116, New Zealand

Departure Time

10:00 AM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • This is a general sightseeing trip with a small amount of walking required
  • This tour is not suitable for user of mobility scooters or wheelchairs (unless very small collapsible ones) . Folding walkers/frames can usually be accommodated but passengers must be able to enter a minibus using the standard steps. You must advise us at the time of booking if you are bringing any mobility device - failure to do so may result in you not being able to take the tour.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • A free fish and chip lunch is included consisting of one portion of fish and chips per person. Unfortunately there are no alternatives included. The lunch is not vegetarian or gluten-free friendly.
  • This tour runs with a minimum of 4 fare paying passengers. We will advise on the day if the minimum hasn't been met, and offer alternative options if necessary
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Please purchase a ticket for all travelers in your group - including 'purchasing' a ticket for all infants. NZ transport law requires us to count all heads on board. One child or infant max per adult ticket.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 24 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Shore Trips and Tours

If you cancel at least 3 day(s) in advance of the scheduled departure, there is no cancellation fee.

If you cancel within 2 day(s) of the scheduled departure, there is a 100 percent cancellation fee.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the maximum group size during Shore Excursion: Tauranga Morning Highlights - with FREE lunch?
This activity will have a maximum of 24 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Shore Excursion: Tauranga Morning Highlights - with FREE lunch.

Traveler Photos


44 Reviews
1 star
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 44 reviews
Shore Excursion: Tauranga Morning Highlights - with FREE lunch
, Mar 2020
Excellent. Very good tour guide. Stayed on time and got us back to ship when planned. Interesting itinerary.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2020
Never missed a ship in 19 years, we plan accordingly and try and create great tours for our clients. Regards Ian
Fresh fish and chips lunch was excellent!
, Mar 2020
Nice overview of the local area. Doug was very personable and a great guide. We enjoyed the beautiful landscape and learning a bit about the local history and culture.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Yes, the Fish and Chips is one part of the trip i also look forward to when i am guiding this tour, sitting right by the fishing boats at the wharf and having the fish cooked fresh to order is the only way to do it. Regards Ian
Informative and entertaining.
, Feb 2020
Tour driver Doug was very informative, and entertaining. Tour was perfect in length and time. Fish lunch was delicious!
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Sounds perfect to me, AND a free lunch! regards ian
A little Something Lacking
, Feb 2020
The tour and driver were just fine. The problem was the fish and chips lunch. We were told that we needed to buy our own drinks. After standing in line for a while, it was obvious the line was too slow for us to ever get drinks, but the driver said he would have water (there was no water provided for the morning bus tour). We were then told that there was not enough water, so we would have to share. The fish was very greasy (but the vinaigrette provided by the driver was great) and the limited seating was very crowded.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Sorry you felt the FREE lunch at the Fish N Chip shop, right on the wharf was not up to a 5 star review. this is one of the most popular fish and chips shops in the region, so the queues can be long, but as you only wanted to buy some drinks you need not have joined the line as they were just waiting for their fish orders. We always order ahead so that when you arrive your fish is ready to go. There is limited seating right by the fish shop but plenty of other seating and tables a little way along the wharf. We have not to date provided water on this tour but since your own and some other clients feedback we are now offering a FREE bottle of water to each guest on our local Tauranga tour. Surprised you found the fish to be greasy though as most clients rave over the quality and freshness. cant please everyone i suppose, but we do try. Regards Ian
, Feb 2020
Our host Doug was an absolute character. Had me giggling all through the tour Every thing went smoothly and it was great on the timing on stops
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Thanks for the great review, yes, Doug makes us all laugh!! Regards Ian
, Jan 2020
Very well conducted and narrated! Went thru the hole in the rock! It was great and wonderful experience.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Thanks for your review of out Tauranga Highlights Tour TRG-1, this is a new tour this season and its proved to be a big hit with our clients from the cruise ship who want a shorter half day tour [we also have a full day version] and the Fish N Chips on the Fish Wharf is a highlight. Regards Ian
Interesting tour
, Apr 2019
Enjoyable and interesting tour around the Mission Station and the area in general. The guide was helpful and informative.
Tauranga highlights
Geoffrey E
, Apr 2019
An interesting morning. Elm Mission was good. Learnt more about NZ history and Maori/ European relations. Guides were knowledgeable Le and accommodating.
Very good small group two couples...
William C
, Mar 2018
Very good small group two couples, almost-private tour. Opportunity to learn and appreciate indigenous Maori history and sometimes turbulent history with European colonialists. My wife and I would have liked a more leisurely pace for the visit to historical sites, as our guide pushed us along to meet a scheduled visit to the Elms Mission Station. This issue cost the review one star. Good, knowledgeable guide.
This was well done and we got a good...
Barry A
, Feb 2018
This was well done and we got a good history of the area. I think we could have spent less time at the Elms Mission Station although it was interesting.

Product code: 9218P2

Explore Similar Things to Do