Recent Searches
Clear

Rotorua and Geothermal Living Maori Village Tour

star-4.5
|
Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
7

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon7 hours  (Approx.)
Pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Learn how New Zealand’s Maori people have adapted to life among the geothermal activity of Rotorua on this small-group shore excursion from Tauranga. At the Living Maori Village, see how residents integrate natural elements like bubbling geysers, mud pools and steam vents into daily tasks, and watch a live cultural performance. You’ll also drive past gorgeous beaches, walk through an ancient redwood forest, and taste local kiwi fruit fresh from the farm on this immersive Bay of Plenty highlights tour.
  • Full-day Bay of Plenty shore excursion from the port of Tauranga
  • Walk through an impressive redwood forest
  • See the steam vents, geysers, and mud pits of Whakarewarewa Geothermal Valley
  • Learn about indigenous culture and traditions at the Living Maori Village
  • See how villagers use geothermal elements in daily life
  • Watch the cooking of a traditional 'hangi' meal
  • Visit the famous Government Gardens and other Rotorua highlights
Saved to wishlist!
Experienced professional guide
Port pickup and drop-off
Maori cultural performance
FREE HANGI LUNCH
Air-conditioned vehicle
Personal expenses
Souvenir shopping
1 The Mall, Bay of Plenty 3116, New Zealand

Departure Time

9:30 AM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • You must provide your own infant/child seat if required
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately. We suggest layers with hats and sunscreen
  • Tour departure time may change due to early and/or late ship arrivals and departures. You will be notified at time of booking Please check your emails to confirm tour departure times.
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 16 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Cruise Tours Tauranga

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Rotorua and Geothermal Living Maori Village Tour?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 16 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Rotorua and Geothermal Living Maori Village Tour.

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
37 Reviews
1 star
0
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 37 reviews
star-4
The show was our highlight
Mary_M
, Feb 2020
I thought the tour was very interesting but, was a bit disappointed that we were unable to see the food actually being cooked as mentioned on your website when booking.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
As part of the guided tour you take at the living Maori village, the guides do show you the Hangi and steam box where the food that you get to enjoy for lunch as part of the tour. You also see the boiling pool where the corn is cooked. So i am not sure why you think that you missed anything. We do exactly what the tour description says. Regards Ian
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
A unique cultural experience
SuzanneS
, Feb 2020
Wonderful experience of a living Maori geothermal village. Amazing - not to be missed. The only disappointment was we wished we had stayed for some time in Rotorua town.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Thanks for the feedback, the tours are timed to run for around 6.5 hours and in that time we show you as much as we can without making the tour seem too rushed. We do have longer tours [at more cost] that let you see and do more. Maybe one of these would have been a better option. We also need to mindful of the ships departure times, we have never missed a ship in 19 years. Regards Ian
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
Maori living village
Fredric_S
, Feb 2020
My rating is for the Maori The Living Village only, it was excellent. Loved the dances and music. Our guide in the village was amazing, so much personal knowledge of the culture and surroundings. The drive by of Rotorua and the redwoods was disappointing, no stops at all to experience the local town. Description of the tour a little misleading.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
If you can contact us and tell us on which day you took the tour we can look into the issues you mention. We are constrained by time but we do have stops along the way [if there is time] at a honey shop with a bee hive and display, a kiwifruit orchard, the Redwoods Forest and we also travel through the city of Rotorua. We do not think the tour description is misleading at all but will be happy to receive your comments direct to us. Regards Ian
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
A Geothermal Must
lushington
, Feb 2020
A great experience, friendly people and excellent guide who gave great detail on life in the geothermal village
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Thanks for the feedback, the living Maori village at Te Whakarewarewa really is a fascinating place. Regards Ian
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Personal attention
nfj2424
, Jan 2020
Our van driver arranged for us to have our own guide. It was wonderful. Instead of being in a group of 40+ tourists, we were in our own small group.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Thanks for your review, we prefer to do these smaller group tours for our clients and will even go if we just have 2 persons, the average size of our tours are around 10 or 12 and this is what the clients prefer. Regards Ian
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
A really great highlights tour of Rotorua/Tauranga!
kiimle
, Jan 2020
Our tour was in a van with only 10 people, so it felt very personalised and tailored to our needs and wants. Gary was very informative about the sights and fun facts about the scenery that we passed through between Tauranga and Rotorua, such as about some terraces that used to be and a shipwreck in Tauranga. We also asked a lot of questions about New Zealand in general and he was able to provide so much information. You also get to meet some of your like-minded cruise ship buddies on the way. It was so much cheaper, but better than what the cruise ship’s excursions provide. Thank you so much!
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Thanks for your very kind comments about the tour and our guide Gary. Our smaller group tours allow us to show you more and are often much better value. Pleased you had a good time. Regards Ian
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Rotorua
chadszy73
, Jan 2020
Great tour for the day. Well organised and Gary our driver/guide was as exceptional. He was informative and made sure the day ran smooth. Highly recommend this tour especially when cruising like we were.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Thanks for your feedback, pleased you enjoyed the day, our guides like to see that they are doing a good job, regards Ian
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
very good and interesting
lyndan521
, Jan 2020
Enjoyed the whole trip.The play was great. The lunch was ok.Enjoyed the tour of the the village.Geothermal sights were wonderful. I enjoyed seeing how they took baths,
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Thanks for the feedback, the hangi lunch option we include is traditional Maori food and is not always to every ones taste. Interesting experience see the way the village is set up within the geothermal activity area.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
very good tour
J5003RGstephenr
, Dec 2019
Everything was well coordinated to get the most of our tour. Our driver, Gary Stickler, made sure we saw everything and took the time to make this an enjoyable experience. The village, dancers, geysers and extra stops made this well worth it.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
Thanks for your review, pleased you enjoyed your day with us at Cruise Tours Tauranga here in New Zealand. Regards Ian
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Had a great time!
artiejay304
, Nov 2019
Very interesting tour and program. We enjoyed it very much! The dinner was good too! An amazing site!
HelpfulHelpful

Product code: 15629P5

Explore Similar Things to Do