Recent Searches

Tongariro Alpine Crossing Shuttle Options

North Island, New Zealand
Tongariro Alpine Crossing Shuttle Options

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

icon8 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds


Trek across stark volcanic terrain on the Tongariro Alpine Crossing, one of New Zealand’s Great Walks. This independent day hike takes you past Mt Tongariro with an optional side trip to the summit of Mt Ngauruhoe, located within the World Heritage area of Tongariro National Park. You’re provided with a round-trip transfer, map and information sheet to prepare you for the 6- to 10-hour trek. Early morning shuttle service is available from your accommodation in Taupo or Turangi, or from the Base Camp or Ketetahi parking lots.
  • Tongariro Alpine Crossing self-guided day hike
  • Trek through the volcanic landscape of Tongariro National Park
  • Climb the Red Crater and descend to the Emerald Lakes
  • Map and information sheet provided
  • Includes shuttle service from hotels or parking lots, depending on option selected
Saved to wishlist!
Map and information sheet
Hotel pickup and drop-off (selected hotels only)
GST (Goods and Services Tax)
Hire Gear

Departure Point

Tongariro National Park, Tongariro National Park, Manawatu-Wanganui Region, North Island

Traveler pickup is offered
Pick up from Taupo, Turangi, Tongariro Holiday Park and Ketetahi Park N Ride. Please arrive 30 mins before pick up time for the Ketetahi option

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Not recommended for participants with back problems, heart complaints or other serious medical conditions, or pregnant women
  • Weather conditions can change, please dress appropriately
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travelers should have a strong physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 300 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Tongariro Expeditions

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the maximum group size during Tongariro Alpine Crossing Shuttle Options?
This activity will have a maximum of 300 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Tongariro Alpine Crossing Shuttle Options.

Traveler Photos


33 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 33 reviews
Everything was great
, Feb 2020
No problems. Shuttle was on time. Make sure that you call up a day before. Otherwise we where comepletely happy.
icon Response from Host , May 2020
Calling the day before is handy for checking the weather. But we now make sure we email everyone a weather update and confirmation the day before. Some people do not put their correct addresses so the rule is if you haven't heard from us the day before please make sure you contact us to ensure a smooth day.
Easy going
, Feb 2020
* Booking was easy * Bus was punctual * Hiking is nice * Fast changing weather conditions * Can be very in the afternoon * Sun blocker needed
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Great advice and feedback. Thank you.
Depending on the weather could be a bit...
, Apr 2018
Depending on the weather could be a bit hard, but it is really worth it.
This is just transportation but...
Srinivasa S
, Mar 2018
This is just transportation but don't miss the transalpine crossing. It's a whipping! One thing is that I wish they were better prepared at the end parking lot with more buses as there was a huge wait.
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
No need to book this in advance as...
Mukund A
, Feb 2018
No need to book this in advance as there are plenty of stuttle services around. Even the motel you come to in Turangi can book you up on the day you check in. Also you can have very flexible return pickup if you book through the hotel and so don't have rush down the mountain to catch the last return bus. It is a ripoff charge but we travellers have not been left with any choice if we want to go up the mountain.
The shuttle did exactly what they...
Kevin B
, Jan 2018
The shuttle did exactly what they said they would do. Given that it seems difficult if not impossible to get to the start of the hike using your own car, this is a reasonablly priced service to facilitate the hike.
Well organised and efficient...
Andrew P
, Jan 2018
Well organised and efficient service. We booked the Ketetahi option, which means you get somewhere to park getting around 4h limit and a shuttle bus to the start of the walk, they include a map and a few words of wisdom. They do know the conditions and advised us against a later start which proved to be sound advice - so listen. The walk itself offers excellent views and photo opportunities, the terrain is mixed and I'd say it's a medium to hard trek which could be much harder in bad weather conditions. For me it would be 5-Stars apart from the fact the route was very busy at least on the day we were there and felt a little overcrowded. Unusually for this type of walk there are toilets on-route - but remember to take your own paper.
My wife and I arrived slightly...
, Jan 2018
My wife and I arrived slightly before 7am at the designated pick up point Ketetahi car park for the transport. However, we waited for more than 2 hours but were not picked up. Eventually, we had to make other transportation arrangements to get us to our planned starting point at Mangatepopo. We did not finish our hike at the time as planned but were close to 4 hours behind our original schedule. As a result, our evening engagements were all affected. This has caused us not just a lot of inconvenience but also a lot of money and time. It is totally unacceptable.
Quite a difficult walk when not...
, Dec 2017
Quite a difficult walk when not trained. Actually not really difficult but really long: I needed 8h30 you can see some people saying I'm not sporty and did it in 6h30, I think they are lying about the not sporty part ahah. Not really interesting when the weather is bad! low clouds hiding the mountains.
Pick up was on time we actually...
, Nov 2017
Pick up was on time we actually caught an earlier bus which was a huge bonus. The driver was great and the ride was safe and quick to the starting point. Pick up after the walk was disappointing as we waited 45 minutes and were exhausted so we just wanted to get to our vehicle. Looked like the company had several busses on the road so this was a bit surprising. A heads up that the finishing point of the walk is only a couple of KM's from where we were picked up, so if you wanted to walk it you certainly could back to your vehicle. The hike itself is fantastic and something you MUST do if visiting the area. Took us 6.5 hours at a relatively quick pace.

Explore Similar Things to Do